How long after a divorce in the state of Massachusetts does someone have to wait before getting married again?


Once the divorce is final, you can get remarried approximately four days later. You can apply for a marriage license one day after your divorce becomes final. It usually takes three days for the license to issue. Obviously, holidays and weekends and other days town offices are closed can change this calculation. Please note that in Massachusetts, the divorce is not final when you present your agreement to the Court. In a joint petition, the Judgment Nisi does not issue for 30 days after you’re in Court. Once the Judgment Nisi issues, there is still a 90 day waiting period for your divorce to become final.

The Massachusetts family law lawyers at Berid & Schutzbank serve all of Middlesex County, Essex County, Worcester County, and the Merrimack Valley region including Andover, Billerica, Burlington, Carlisle, Chelmsford, Dracut, Dunstable, Groton, Lawrence, Lowell, Methuen, North Andover, Pepperell, Tewksbury, Westford, and Wilmington Massachusetts.

What Our Clients Have To Say...


Get the answers you need.